Featured at the Bar-D Ranch

Academy of Western Artists
Will Rogers Cowboy Awards

Back on Home

The Latest
     What's New
        Subscribe (free!)

Be a Part of it All 
     About the BAR-D
     Join us!

Cowboy Poetry Collection
     Folks' poems
     Honored Guests
     Index of poems

Poetry Submissions  
    Current Lariat Laureate

Events Calendar

Featured Topics
    Classic Cowboy Poetry
    Newest Features
        Poets and musicians
        Cowboy poetry topics
        Programs of  interest
        Gathering reports
        In memory
   Who Knows?

Cowboy Life and Links
    Western Memories
    Books about Cowboy Poetry
    Other sites

The Big Roundup

Link to us!
Give us a holler


line.GIF (1552 bytes)


The Academy of Western Artists' Tenth Annual Will Rogers Cowboy Awards took place July 13, 2005 in Richardson, Texas at the Eisemann Theater.  

A Convention and Trade Show took place place July 12 and 13, 2005 at the Richardson Civic Center.

There are pages of photos from the convention and Awards Show here, courtesy of Jack Hummel and Yvonne Hollenbeck.



2005  Winners and Top Five Nominations

Second Annual Cowboy Poetry/Songwriting Team Penning Challenge
(separate page)



See our reports on some previous AWA meetings and Awards Shows:


See our feature on the AWA Buck Ramsey Best Poetry Book Award here 


our feature on the AWA Will Rogers Medallion Award for outstanding publishing of Cowboy Poetry here.


Will Rogers Awards Winners and Top Five Nominees  

  Following are the winners and top five nominees for the Will Rogers Cowboy Awards. Winners were announced at the Awards Show in Richardson, Texas on July 13, 2005.  See the entire list at the AWA web site. 


Cowboy Poet-Female
Yvonne Hollenbeck
Doris Daley
Peggy Godfrey
Donna Hatton
Linda Kirkpatrick

Cowboy Poet-Male
WINNER: Woody Woodruff
DW Groethe
Don Kennington
Jay Snider
Red Steagall

Cowboy Poetry-Book  (Buck Ramsey Award)
WINNER: Rolf Flake-Cowboy Poetry: Cloud Watcher
Virginia Bennett-Cowboy Poetry-The Reunion
Darin Brookman-Where Sagebrush Grows
Georgie Sicking-Just More Thinking

Cowboy Poetry-CD
WINNERS: Tom/Donna Hatton-Whispers of Voices
Tammy Gislason
/Mike Puhallo/Matt Johnson/Kraig Jodrey/Ray
Goguen/Bodie Dominquez/Aimee Pierson/Budd Webb-Knockin' Down Fences
Andy Nelson-Land Mines
Rod Nichols/Gene O'Quinn-Cowboy Christmas Mem'ries
Doc Stovall/Jerry Warren-Georgia Cowboys

WINNER: Glenn Ohrlin
Les Buffham
Tammy Gislason

Andy Nelson
Pat Richardson

Western Music-Male
WINNER: Bill Barwick
R. W. Hampton
Brenn Hill
Curly Musgrave
Dan Roberts

Western Music-Female
Juni Fisher 
Kip Calahan
Stephanie Davis
Belinda Gail
Jean Prescott

Western Music Duo/Group
WINNER: Wylie & The Wild West
Belinda Gail/Curly Musgrave
Sisters of the Silver Sage
Sons of the San Joaquin
Texas Trailhands

Western Music-Yodeler
WINNER: Wylie Gustafson
Tiffany Jo Allen
Chelsea Beck
Ranger Doug
Janet McBride

Westen Music-Album
WINNER: Kip Calahan-Dust Devil Angel
Brenn Hill-Endangered
Royal Wade Kimes-Cowboy Cool
Jean Prescott-Embers of Time
Wylie & The Wild West-Hooves of the Horses

Western Music-Song
WINNER: Gary and  Jean Prescott-"Fair Blows the Wind"
Kip Calahan-"Echoes of the Trail"
Brenn Hill-"Buckaroo Tattoo"
Janet McBride-"A Cowgirl's Dream"
Riders in the Sky-"Heading For Texas"

Western Swing-Male
WINNER:  Billy Mata
Ray Benson
Craig Chambers
Syd Masters
Curtis Potter

Western Swing-Female
WINNER: Melissa Collard
Elana Fremerman
Trudy Fair
Joni Harms
Ginny Mac

Western Swing-Band
WINNER:  River Road Boys
Dave Alexander/Legends
Asleep At The Wheel
Hot Club of Cowtown
Billy Mata/Texas Tradition

Western Swing-Instrumentalist
WINNER:  Tommy Nash
Tommy Allsup
Chris Booher
Jim Loessberg
Rich O'Brien

Western Swing-Album
WINNER:  Dave Alexander-Western Boogie
Asleep At The Wheel-Live At Billy Bob's
Bob Boatright-Fiddle Swing
Billy Mata-Traditionally Yours
Tom Morrell-Monkey Bizness

Western Swing-Song
WINNER:  Curtis Potter-"Every Time I Hear A Fiddle Play"
Bob/Johnny Boatright-"One Less Rose in San Antone"
Devon Dawson/Lyn Ryan-"Play Faded Love, I Gotta Go Home"
Billy Mata-"Just to Celebrate"
Tom Morrell/Don Edwards-"Gold in My Pocket"

Entertainer of the Year
WINNER:  Billy Mata
Wylie Gustafson
R.W. Hampton
Riders in the Sky
Sisters of the Silver Sage

Rising Star
WINNER:  Lost Canyon Rangers
Chelsea Beck
Jim Reader
Quebe Sisters
Wallace Family Kids

Gear Makers (WINNERS):
Saddlemaker-Chas Weldon, MT
Hitcher/Braider-Sara Hagel, WY
Artist-Grant Speed, UT
Cartoonist-Jim Hamm, AZ
Engraver-Virginia McCuin, NV
Spurmaker-Randy Butters, WI
Chuckwagon-Jerry Baird, TX (Garnet Brooks etc.)

Disc Jockeys (WINNERS):
Region I Enola Gay, KSST Radio, Sulphur Spgs, TX
Region II Mark Miller, KBEC, Waxahachie, TX
Region III Tom Perryman, KKUS, Tyler, TX
Region IV, Tracy Pitcox, KNEL, Brady, TX
Western Region:
Andy Nelson, Pinedale, WY
Major Market: Lew Jones, Englewood, CO

Radio Station (WINNERS):
Southwest: KSEY, Seymour, TX
Western: KRRM, Grants Pass, OR
Major Market: KKNG, Oklahoma City, OK

John A Lomax Award: Jack & Voleta Hummel and O J Sikes

There are pages of photos from the convention and Awards Show here, courtesy of Jack Hummel and Yvonne Hollenbeck.








 What's New | Poems

 Features | Events  

Poetry Submissions | Lariat Laureate Competition

Subscribe | Newsletter | Contact Us

  Join Us!


Authors retain copyright to their work; obtain an author's
permission before using a poem in any form.


CowboyPoetry.com is a project of the Center for Western and Cowboy Poetry, Inc., a Federal and California tax-exempt non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization.  


Site copyright information